Voices To Give You Goosebumps

April 3, 2012 § 2 Comments

I have wanted to write a post about these two guys for a long, long time, but I have never gotten around to it!

Tom Hulce and Paul Kandel

You must love on them! Of course, where I love their voices most is from “The Hunchback of Notre Dame” (Walt Disney Studios, 1996) soundtrack. They have absolutely gorgeous voices, and literally give me goosebumps (especially Tom Hulce).

Tom Hulce in his prime

Tom Hulce is the voice of Quasimodo, the titular character. At first was I not a big fan of his voice, and the vibrato got on my nerves. And then at some point, I totally changed my mind and FELL IN LOVE! My favorite song of his from the HoND soundtrack is “Out There” – I mean it when I say it gives me goosebumps every time I hear it! (Watch and listen here!) You may recognize Tom from his role in the movie “Amadeus” as, again, the titular character Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. This is one of his more notable roles. He has also appeared in “Stranger than Fiction,” “Animal House,” and “Jumper”.

Paul Kandel

Paul Kandel is the voice of the gypsy, Clopin, who frames the narrative of the story of the Hunchback of Notre Dame. Paul astounds me with his vocal range – not just his range but the clarity and accuracy with which he sings! From the HoND I think his most impressive song is the introductory song, “The Bells of Notre Dame”. (Watch and listen here!) Another enjoyable song is “The Court of Miracles” (which is very funny in content!). Paul has not done too many films, though he has done voices in other movies (a chorus member in “Aladdin and the King of Thieves” was another Disney movie he did).

I certainly recommend watching the videos I provided. And if anyone can find a video of Tom Hulce recording these songs – I would be forever indebted to you! Enjoy 🙂

Tagged: ,

§ 2 Responses to Voices To Give You Goosebumps

Leave a comment

What’s this?

You are currently reading Voices To Give You Goosebumps at Two Doses and A Shot.

meta